Admin

Athletics

***Attention RUSD Families***

This is an update regarding Co-Curricular and Extra Curricular activities for all RUSD High Schools.  

  • On September 1, 2020, the RUSD Board of Education approved a plan to allow for conditioning workouts to begin October 1, 2020.  
  • The plan allows for only fall sports (Cross Country, Football, Water Polo, Volleyball, Cheer) along with Marching Band to conduct conditioning workouts.  
  • All activities must be outside with pods of no more than 5-10 students.  
  • Masks will be worn by coaches at all times.
  • Students must wear a mask entering and exiting any school facility. 
  • Social distancing of 6 feet will be maintained at all times with frequent hand washing breaks. Restrooms will be sanitized daily.   
  • During conditioning, no equipment, water bottles, or towels  will be shared amongst students. 
  • All coaches and advisors will be trained on protocols for entering and exiting campus, scanning temperatures and following the guidelines found in the RUSD Opening of Schools Information Guide. 

The safety of our students and staff is our number one priority.  Coaches and advisors will adhere to the guidelines and protocols outlined in our Co-Curricular and Extra Curricular Reopening Plan.  Thank you for your continued support.



For all sports schedules please visit www.polyathletics.com
Follow us on Instagram: @rivpolyathlectics

atheltics

To participate in high school sports,  a student athlete must have a completed physical on file with the Athletic Department on campus, 2.0 GPA from prior quarter grading period and passing minimum of 4 classes.


Poly's Athletic Trainer
Megan Lopez
melopez@riversideunified.org

Your Athletic Trainer is still here to help you be successful.

Since school is starting online, student-athletes will be sitting in front of a computer.  Students can develop overuse or functional injuries such as an eye strain, back pain, hand pain, arm pain, lack of movement, and lack of exercise etc. Athletes who want to participate in sports and have not been exercising can develop overuse injuries if they jump back in 100% in a short period of time. The athletic trainer can help to decrease overuse injuries and get athletes moving and exercising in a healthy and progressive way. Athletes who have been continuously working out through this pandemic may need to rehabilitate an existing injury, learn ways to move more effectively, and/or decrease soreness. These are just examples of what athletes may need.  The Athletic Trainer is here to help and to make any scenario a positive one. Athletic Trainer will also help make referrals when necessary.

Google Classroom:
To make an appointment please use: https://melopezat.appointlet.com
Telemedicine Appointment: https://ceisportsmed.doxy.me/melopezat

Performance Group

Pep Squad
Lindy Schive
@polyhscheer
Marching Band
Arwen Hernandez 
ROTC
Joe Dominguez
Victor Napoles
Dance
Lindy Schive
@polysonganddance
Color Guard
Arwen Hernandez

FALL

Girls' Cross Country
Denise Steuer
tracknfield35@gmail.com

 Boys' Cross Country
Mario Umana
jvaughan@riversideunified.org
Football
John Rice 
jrice@riversideunified.org
 Girls' Golf
Greg Pfrunder
gpfrunder@riversideunified.org

Girls' Tennis
Nick Mateljan
nmateljan@riversideunified.org

Girls' Volleyball
Dana Fulwider
dfulwider@riverisdeunified.org
@riversidepolyvolleyball


Boys' Water Polo
Mike Cardey
polypolocoach@aol.com

 

WINTER

Boys' Basketball
Yancy Dodson
bdodson@riversideunified.org
@polybearshoops
polybearsbb.org

Girls' Basketball
Sid Llera
sllera@riversideunified.org

 Boys' Soccer
Alex Figueroa
afigueroa@riversideunified.org

Girls' Soccer
Katie Rumfola
ktrumfola@yahoo.com

Wrestling
Jake Ceja
jake.ceja@gmail.com

Girls' Water Polo
Mike Cardey
polypolocoach@aol.com
@rivpolygirlspolo

 

SPRING

Boys' Volleyball
Jolene Ryan
jolene1999@yahoo.com

Baseball
Bill Ermert 
wpermert@riversideunified.org
 Boys' Golf
Neil Schlesener
nschlesener@riversideunified.org

Boys' Lacrosse
Aaron Peters
apeters@riversideunified.org
@polylax

Girls' Lacrosse
Katie Rumfola
ktrumfola@yahoo.com

Softball
Robert Sakaguichi
rookiesgold@hotmail.com

Girls' Swimming
William Grisham
wgrisham@riversideunified.org
@rivpolygirlsswim

Boys' Swimming
Jake Knell
jakeknell77@gmail.com

Boys' Tennis
Nick Mateljan
nmateljan@riversideunified.org

Track and Field
Alfonoso Ibarra
jvaughan@riversideunified.org

 

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.